Shadow effect

Preschool Development Grants B-5




In January of 2014, the FY2014 Consolidated Appropriations Act (P.L. 113-76) provided $250 million for Preschool Development Grants. On August 18, 2014, the U.S. Department of Education & the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services posted the Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) for the "Preschool Development Grants."

Funds were available for two types of grants: Development Grants (for states with small Pre-K programs or not State Pre-K) and Expansion Grants for states serving more than 10% of eligible children and/or a Race to the Top Early Learning Challenge (RTT-ELC) grant.  Performance reports for the PDG program are located here.

Preschool Development Grants B-5

As part of the Every Student Succeeds Act (enacted in 2015), Congress switched the administration of the Preschool Development Grant Program from the U.S. Department of Education to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. In addition, while the Preschool Development Grants were not changed in title, the purpose of the grants was completely revised to reflect birth to age five, rather than the pre-k years only.

This Initial one-year grant differs significantly from the Preschool Development Grants that are presently funded.  The PDG B-5 grant targets comprehensive statewide birth through five needs assessment, strategic planning, parent choice and knowledge about mixed delivery systems, and sharing best practices prior to implementation of any quality initiatives states identify in a strategic plan developed based on what is learned from their needs assessment.

The 2018 funding announcement is here, which includes grant proposal requirements, priorities, points per section, and evaluation requirements. Applicants are required to address 5 required activities and applications must be signed by Governors.

States that have not previously received Race to the Top – Early Learning Challenge Grants (RTT-ELC grants) or Preschool Development Grant (PDG) funding and that have obtained a score of 70 or higher, will receive 10 bonus points. The 24 states eligible for the 10 bonus points are: Alaska, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, West Virginia and Wyoming (plus DC, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands).

No state with a score below 70 will be eligible to receive a grant. All states, starting with the highest score and moving to the lowest score above 69, will be awarded a grant until all funds are expended ($250 million).

The 2019 funding annoucement for renewal grants is here and for initial grants (states that did not receive a PDG B-5 grant in the 2018 competition) is here.


PRESCHOOL Grants Under Every Child Succeeds Act Reauthorization Conference Report (S. 1177)

Section 9212 of the Every Child Succeeds Act includes a new Preschool Development Grant Program.

Pre-K Reports

Mixed Delivery

Early Intervention